Chamber to honor volunteers of the year at Annual Meeting

  • Share:
April 29, 2018

Volunteers are the life blood of this organization. Every year, every day, volunteers are out there sharing the story of the Richardson Chamber by promoting a successful business climate and supporting the local community.

Volunteer of the Year – Manasseh Durkin of Durkin Properties – a tri-chair for Growth & Mobility, as well as a Growth & Mobility series sponsor; LR graduation sponsor; LRAA board member; golf tournament committee and sponsor. Volunteer of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has devoted exceptional effort in promoting the success of programs within the chamber in support of local business and/or community. Manasseh Durkin of Durkin Enterprises, LLC is a second-generation general contractor who has worked in all aspects of commercial and residential construction projects since 2003.

Rookie of the Year – Kathy Rogers of Nothing Bundt Cakes. Kathy is an active ambassador and attends every ribbon cutting, bringing a cake to each new member. Rookie of the Year is presented to the most outstanding rookie volunteer who has served through a committee and/or event activity for less than a year. Nothing Bundt Cakes is in the west side of Richardson Plaza at Campbell and 75.

Small Business of the Year – Fred Muller of Vernon Company has exchanged a Silver President’s Club membership since 2013 for various promotional items – saving the chamber almost $9000. Small Business of the Year Award is presented to a Richardson small business who has achieved outstanding success as measured by years of operation, and growth and/or community service in the current year.


Committee of the Year – International Concierge Committee. This group continues to grow under the leadership of Robert Smith of Saville, Dodgen & Company and Javier Mazon of Group Lamerica. They help Mike Skelton host international business delegations, host seminars on topics such as Brexit, hold monthly roundtables and serve as ambassadors for the chamber. Committee of the Year Award is presented to the committee that has performed in an outstanding manner to achieve their stated goals during the year.

Ambassador of the Year – Marilyn Jones. This award is given to the Ambassador with the most points earned during the year. Marilyn is a top real estate agent with Ebby Halliday. She recently won the retention drawing for making the most member calls.